George S. Ansell Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Metallurgical and Materials Engineering plays a role in all manufacturing processes which convert raw materials into useful products adapted to human needs. The primary goal of the Metallurgical and Materials Engineering program is to provide students with a fundamental knowledge-base associated with materials-processing, their properties, and their selection and application.

The emphasis in the Department is on teaching and research focused toward materials processing operations which encompass: the conversion of mineral and chemical resources into metallic, ceramic or polymeric materials; the synthesis of new materials; refining and processing to produce high performance materials for applications from consumer products to automobiles, aerospace and electronics; the development of mechanical, chemical and physical properties of materials related to their processing and structure; and the selection of materials for specific applications.

Recent Departmental Highlights:

May 2016

PhD candidate wins IIE scholarship

MME PhD candidate Mark Strauss has been selected to receive the Nancy Petry Scholarship for Study Abroad from the Institute of International Education. Strauss, currently researching fluorescent lamp recycling at the University of Leuven in Belgium, was selected for his commitment to IIE's mission of fostering mutual understanding around the world through person-to-person connections.

April 2016

MME's Joshua Pelz wins AIST Foundation video contest

Metallurgical and Materials Engineering major Joshua Pelz won a $500 prize in the 2016 AIST Foundation's "Real Steel" Marketing Video Challenge.

The Association for Iron & Steel Technology Foundation's contest challenges students to create videos promoting careers in the steel industry while educating viewers on how the steel industry has changed over the last 70 years in terms ofenvironmental consciousness and responsibility.

March 2016

Assistant Professor Emmanuel De Moor has been named one of 16 Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineers by the Society of Manufacturing Engineers.

Selected through an extensive review process conducted for SME by executives from across industry and academia, the recognition is based on a candidate’s research and development efforts in emerging manufacturing applications, published works, design ingenuity, entrepreneurship, and leadership. All honorees are 35 or younger.

De Moor earned the recognition for his work on materials, microstructure, and properties and processing interrelationships in sheet, plate, rail, bar, forging, and wire steels.

February 2016

Protonic fuel cell research wins $150K OEDIT grant

Metallurgical and Materials Engineering Professor Ryan O'Hayre and Mechanical Engineering's Neal Sullivan will scale up their innovative high-performance ceramic fuel cells into practical-sized electric generators that operate on a variety of fuels.


PHOTOS: Luncheon celebrates Professor Stephen Liu's selection as the inaugural American Bureau of Shipping endowed chair

University Emeritus Professor of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering David Matlock has been named a 2016 Distinguished Member and Fellow of the Association for Iron & Steel Technology. He will receive the honor at AISTech 2016, the 13th annual Iron & Steel Technology Conference and Exposition

University Emeritus Professor of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering George Krauss has been awarded the 2016 AIST Benjamin F. Fairless Award. The award was established in 1954 in honor of Benjamin F. Fairless, chairman of the board of the U.S. Steel Corporation, for his intense interest in the technology and development of the iron and steel industry. This award is to recognize distinguished achievement in iron and steel production and ferrous metallurgy. Krauss will receive the award at the AISTech conference in Pittsburgh in May.

January 2016

Researchers from the Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering and an industry partner have been recognized for a paper that furthers the use of sheet steel in automotive applications.

Professor John Speer, Assistant Professor Emmanuel De Moor, and graduate student Joonas Kahkonen, who also work in the Advanced Steel Processing and Products Research Center, and Grant Thomas of AK Steel, have been chosen to receive the SAE/AISI Sydney H. Melbourne Award for Excellence in the Advancement of Automotive Sheet Steel.

"Carbon and Manganese Effects on Quenching and Partitioning Response of CMnSi-Steels" was published in the May 2015 issue of the SAE International Journal of Materials & Manufacturing.


© 2016 Colorado School of Mines | | Equal Opportunity | Privacy Policy | Directories | Text Only | | rss

Last Updated: 05/20/2016 14:27:57